[Translate to English:]

Agriculture in the service of sustainable territorial development

What is the purpose of agriculture? It is a very broad question, although the answer would seem pretty straightforward: the role of agriculture is to feed the world.

Despite this rather obvious fact, it is important to remember the many challenges that the agricultural sector faces. These include producing enough quality food to feed an ever-growing world population and preserving the environment and natural resources against the backdrop of climate change and market imperfections that generate instability.  

In addition to producing food, agriculture accomplishes a variety of economic, social, and environmental functions. Our research group is interested in exploring these various roles. We also adopt an educational and scientific approach that analyzes the complex relationship between agricultural development, understood as both a social and economic practice, and the development of territories where agriculture is present.           

Scientific watch

Are you interested in a scientific watch on local food circuits? The Agriculture, Territorial Development Research Group, with the support of the Canadian Partnership for Agriculture, offers you a newsletter (in French) every two months.

Oops, an error occurred! Code: 201901190125026b5b9a11

L’agriculture au service du développement durable des territoires

À quoi sert l’agriculture ? Vaste question dont la réponse sonne généralement comme une évidence : l’agriculture sert à nourrir le monde.

Cette évidence ne doit toutefois pas faire oublier les défis que ce secteur doit relever : produire en quantité et qualité suffisante pour nourrir une population mondiale de plus en plus importante, préserver l’environnement et les ressources naturelles dans un contexte de changement climatique et d’imperfection des marchés qui accentue les incertitudes.

Au delà de la production, l’agriculture remplit de multiples rôles économiques, sociaux et environnementaux. C’est à cette diversité de rôles que s’intéresse notre groupe de recherche. Notre démarche pédagogique et scientifique vise à analyser les liens complexes qui unissent le développement de l’agriculture, vue comme pratique sociale et économique, et celui des territoires dans lesquels elle est mise en œuvre.

Veille scientifique

Vous êtes intéressés par une veille scientifique sur les circuits alimentaires de proximité ? Le groupe de recherche agriculture, territoires et développement, avec l’appui du Partenariat canadien pour l’agriculture, vous propose tous les deux mois un bulletin de veille.

Oops, an error occurred! Code: 20190323003156ba32845b